STRS Plans

SRTS – Safe Routes to School Planning Assistance

MMDC, in partnership with MnDOT, works with school districts and communities within the region to assist them with preparing SRTS Plans. MnDOT has a program to help fund SRTS plans. Grades K-8 are eligible for the SRTS Program. The Plans follow prescribed federal guidelines and focus on the “Five E’s”, which are: Engineering, Education, Encouragement, Enforcement, and Evaluation. School districts that have plans in place are eligible to apply for funding to implement needed infrastructure improvements under the Transportation Alternatives Program (TAP).

MMDC has recently assisted the Willmar School District in preparing plans for their two elementary schools and their middle school. The Commission is working on SRTS plans for two other school districts. Below are copies of completed SRTS Plans.

Kennedy Elementary School SRTS Plan

Roosevelt Elementary School SRTS Plan

Willmar Middle School SRTS Plan

Web Design by Dennis Benson